• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

What editing equioment will $1500 buy ?

I will say immediately - I sincerely apologize for asking a question that I know must have been asked many times before. I have really read so many replies to others that my head is spinning because they get very technical. I am NOT in any way a techie and need someone to treat me as a complete newbie as far as the equipment is concerned. I claim to be a photographer and nothing more :) SO here is my basic question:

What will $1500 buy me in the way of CPU, Graphics card, Memory etc to edit my HDV footage with relative simplicity? Anything? Suggestion as to particular pieces would also be handy.

Thank you very much folks.

I'm not going to make any specific recommendations, as visual editing isn't my area. My comment is going to be that as your budget decreases ease of use also decreases, as does speed. A slower CPU will obviously take longer to render. There are inexpensive workarounds, but they will require some extra effort on the part of the user.

dagrunoffice2.jpg

Yes my friend. Thanks for the reply. I know that in life there are compromises and in this case I will have to make some. I am just hoping that for the money I have there are some compromises that will not greatly affect the needs I have :(

Personally, I'd hire an editor for that amount.

Maybe a low end power/mac book and either final cut studio 2 or express 4.

A better idea might be an older avid box, but I guess it all boils down to your level.

Do you know your stuff when it comes to editing? Are you still learning the ropes? Somewhere in between? I'd plan my purchase accordingly.

Personally, I'd hire an editor for that amount.

Maybe a low end power/mac book and either final cut studio 2 or express 4.

A better idea might be an older avid box, but I guess it all boils down to your level.