Video Camera With Auto-focus

Hi, I'm very new to filmmaking, I just do it as a hobby. I'm working on a no-budget project, so I'm stuck with the video camera I currently have, which is a Canon HD Vixia HG20. I really love it a lot, it has great picture and its easy to work with. However, one thing I don't like is the auto focuser. It doesn't have any way to manually change the focus. So, I'm guessing there is no way to do the effect where you have the background focused and the foreground not, and vice versa. I guess I'm not really sure what I'm asking here, cause there really isn't anything I can do about that, right?

It's been a while since I took that camera out for a test drive.
But I know it has manual focus. As I recall it's on a joystick
and not a focus ring. Check your user manual.

There is.

Move the camera as far from the subject as you can and
zoom in. That will give you shallow depth of field.

Well. Uh, I guess it depends on your definition of "shallow", as that term is obviously relative. Compare the image you would get with this camera to say, I dunno, an f1.8 100mm lens on a DSLR. Nope, not even slightly the same.

Thank you. I suppose I probably should have done a bit more research before I came crying to a forum :) . It may not look as good as a real expensive professional camera, but I think it will suit my needs. Thanks again for the help!

Thank you. I suppose I probably should have done a bit more research before I came crying to a forum :) . It may not look as good as a real expensive professional camera, but I think it will suit my needs. Thanks again for the help!

It's not the cost of the camera, it's a different technology. DSLR's are actually super-cheap, that's what's crazy.

Do some googling on the term "depth of field". The look you're talking about is shallow depth of field. You can't get it with your camera (alone).