• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Using Existing Movie References in a Spec Script

Hello, Fellow Indiots

I have been haunted by a screenplay I have been writing in my head for months. I drive long distances for a living and I spend most of this time working out the many screenplay details as I drive. I am not expecting this to become the latest blockbuster hit movie as much as I would simply like to get it written down and properly executed. ...I am a realist! Here are my two questions:

(Q1) My protagonist is in a scene where she is watching TV and quickly flipping through famous movies on her remote channel-by-channel. I want what she is seeing to also be seen by the audience (TV and character together or just the TV's screen). Let's say there are three very quick scenes from "Back To The Future", "Scarface", and "Rain Man". How would I communicate this within the text of my script ...and would I have to get copyright permission from each of the publishers of these three movies?

(Q2) I have seen popular films where other famous movie clips are shown within the movie. I have also heard old famous movie quotes used within a newer movie. It is not very common, but can be effective tool if crucial to a character's actions. ...What is the best way to use existing movie quotes and clips within a new spec script?

Thanks,
-Birdman

The question is do you want to produce the script yourself or do you want sell it? If you are planning on selling it just write the damned thing and let the producer(s) worry about the copyright and other legal issues. If you are planning on producing it yourself I hope that you have very deep pockets with lots and lots and lots of zeroes so you can afford the movie clips and quotes. Let's put it this way; if using "The Middle" by Frankie Eats World in a film costs (at a minimum) $100,000 imagine how much clips from "Back To The Future," "Scarface" and "Rain Man" will cost you.