Trouble uploading (yes I know, laugh it up)

I'm new to Final Cut Pro. I've used iMovie on projects before but want to learn FCP and all it has to offer.

I'm getting really annoyed by it though. Just trying to import (log and capture) is ridiculous. I simply can't get it to work. Here's what's wrong. If I try the "Batch" capture option by first adding in/out markers to the clip I want, then logging the clip, and then capturing all those logged clips, it has incorrect times on them and tries rewinding to the very very beginning of the tape, which is not what I want. The shots I want are like 15 minutes into the MiniDV tape. I think this is because there are sometimes blank breaks in my video in between myshots. Could this be the problem?

And if I try capturing using "Capture Now", well it keeps wanting to rewind and find the exact frame of every single clip. Personally it doesn't matter that much to me and I don't have the time for it.

What are my solutions?

I'm going to try importing from iMovie for now because it's easier and I have this video due in two days. So then I will export that raw footage as a Quicktime movie so that I can open it back and edit in FCP? Does this sound like a viable option? By the way, I don't want to lose ANY quality.

Thanks in advance,
Travis

Last edited:
As I recall there is an audio issue that causes clips to have to be rerendered before they work very well in FCP when you import with iMovie... knightly can probably clarify that.

My question is why not just capture the entire tape, then scrub through it and do your edit. Maybe not the best solution for most workflows, but it's certainly a workable solution. I often times will capture an entire tape as a single file with Premiere, no reason it shouldn't also work with FCP.