• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Transfering mini dvd's to regular size

My camcorder uses the mini's which hold up to 30mins of film in each mini dvd. Aside from taking them to a camera store is there a device I can purchase that can transfer them to regular size dvd?
My intent is to do a trial documentary film on myself as part a learning tool for filming. I am currently trying to collect as much film data as possible. When it comes time I want to edit these 30min mini's into a film and incorporate better sound and music (if possible - working with a cheap sony). The overall intent is to creat a 30min short docufilm on what I do for a living on one normal size dvd.

This can easily be done with Sony Vegas Platinum Studio. You simply import the DVD files from the mini DVD, then render it out and send it to DVD Architect, and viola, you have yourself a full sized DVD.

I don't know about the mpg2 recording. I bought the camera three years ago and no longer have the info on the camera. To be frank, I know little of modern technology. The last time I did any kind of editing, filming and storytelling was in the 80's by using a giant video recorder and two vcr's.

As for the Sony Vegas system, I looked that up..it's ad states it has 5.1 surround sound...I don't know what the means in the scheme of things. One of biggest pet peeves in filming is having crappy sound. I want vibrant sound - not the echoing sound that so many cheap movies (which is what this is) have.
I don't like sound that has a lot of 'fuzzing' in it...something that is crisp and clear is what I am hoping for...so overall what does 5.1 mean?

Thanks.

So the question went from mini dvd's to sound.

Yes, this is one that records straight to mpeg2. All dvd cameras are.

They are a nightmare for editing...