• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

The Jean-Jacques Beineix look - how to achieve it?

Hey guys,
I have some experience in directing but not too much experience with color grading or how to achieve some certain look (or film it the right way to achieve this certain look).

I am wondering how to achieve the "orange days" and "blue nights" look. This look is present a lot in early Beineix films. What do I have to do before filming? What do I have to do after filming? How are the lights placed? How do I prepare such shots in general?
The look I'm looking for is present in this Beineix film Betty Blue:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VtI68QAGts
Check the first few minutes to see what kind of grade he uses in the day time and from 6:00 onward check the night scenes (especially 6:50!). Can somebody explain how is this grade built?

Also check his first film Diva from 1981. (this scene is happening early in the morning tho) and some screenshots on second link.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lqbj9zEb8cI
http://screenshotworld.blogspot.com/2007/07/diva-1981.html

So, how do I achieve such "Beineix" look? His colors are very strong. Huge part of his films are also mise en scènes. He uses red, green, blue, yellow and cyan a lot in his films (he is a pioneer of Cinéma du Look btw - check on wiki). Costumes are in this colors and also locations. I am a huge fan of Beineix and I would like to understand how to prepare and film shots to get this type of look. Sorry for my english, hope you understand what I'm trying to ask and that the questions aren't too hard.

So in short, how do I prepare the shots (lightning wise, in DSLR...) and how do I grade them to achieve this look? Thanks for futher help guys!

Hello there new guy!