Self Distribution - getting the word out!

Hi,

So I have decided to bite the bullet and try distributing my film online from my own web site! It's a bit of an experiment I'm going to give it 6 months or so and see what happens. The film will be available for download for viewing on ipods and PSP.
I was wondering if anyone else has tried this?
I know the important thing now is to get traffic to my site, and advertise the film. Does anyone have some suggestions of things I could try to promote my film?

I'll keep you up to date with my little experiment, and let you know how it goes.

I have some experience with promoting the site.
1. You need to register in as many search engine machines as you can.
2. Use banner networks. You can place their code on your site, but unless your site is a forum or a very popular site this type of advertisement is ineffective. You`d better buy adverts. I don`t know any english speaking banner networks, so you need to search.
3. Ask your friends to promote it.
Generally, it depends on your budget.

Try sending submission articles to related sites- type the keywords you think would bring people to find your video in Google, and see what comes up. From there, contact those websites and ask them to link you!

Here's a couple sites to start:

www.rewindvideo.com

www.microcinemascene.com

Also, consider doing an online press release through a company like PR web. Why not contact an already established indie website about a joint press release? We had a joint one with Indietalk because it covered our film, and the resources here that helped make it. If you can come up with a good spin like that, site owners might jump at the chance, because the press release would start showing up in feeds around the web promoting you and them.