Research

Hi, everyone.

I'm not a film-maker but I'm hoping to tap into your collective wisdom. I'm a writer and I'm working on a novel set in the 70s. One of my characters is going to make a low-budget documentary. I thought I would have him do it on 8mm film, but I've learned that most 8mm film does not have a 'soundtrack' (pardon my layman's terminology). If he shot the film on 8mm that had no sound, but did use a tape recorder, can he dub the sound in when he's editing? If so, how? I mean 8mm usually has no sound track. This is where I'm confused.

Weren't those student films I sat through back in my university days shot on 8mm, and yet when I saw them projected on the screen they had sound (often it seemed "The Girl of Ipanema"). How? Maybe they weren't 8mm, but 16?

Any facts and explanations would be enlightening. Thanks. I've spent half the day googling this, have learned a lot but not what I need. Perhaps my question is too stupid.

Tom

'sup :cool:

Kodak stopped making S8 film, with the magnetic sound stripe, several years ago.

Sure, you can use an external device to record audio and import that audio into your editing software.

The thing to watch out for is this: Unless your camera is crystal-sync'd (a special motor to make sure the film is recording at exactly 24fps), the film recording rate will wander. The longer each single take the more drift you'll have, as the cameras motor speeds up or slows down.

That makes it really hard to simply plop the audio into place. You'll end up with something that looks like a badly dubbed 70's kung-fu flick. If you are awesome at sound, you can change the rate of your sound to match, but it will be a real bear to do.

If you keep your shots short (dunno exactly, but I'd say 10 secs or less) you ought to be able to get away with it okay.

'sup :cool:

Kodak stopped making S8 film, with the magnetic sound stripe, several years ago.