• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Question for syncing audio to film

As I am a composer I deal mostly with composition and audio however I have lots of equipment for live recording and I wanted to help a friend record audio while shooting. My question is this: What is the best way to record Audio while the camera is rolling? I have lots of pro gear that will be set up on site, is it best to record it outside of the camera (direct into computer)? If so, how do I go about syncing the audio to the video? Any ideas or comments are welcome. I have all the required gear, just need some opinions on how to make it professional.

I am not sure of the camera type, I know its HD, so it is up to date. I will get back to you on that.
As for equipment, I have a computer that will be on site with 10 channels of audio all with compressors, preamps and anything else that might be required. I have adapters of all types, I dont know if any cables are used for syncing such as midi or voltage, so any info on that would be great. I use the new Logic as a DAW and editing.

Hope this helps.

I take it that you have never done production sound before.

First, it's all about capturing the dialog as cleanly as possible.

Second, unless your director/producer is a sound "fanatic" you'll get all of two minutes to get set before they are ready to shoot, so you won't have time to adjust a whole lot of gear. At the low/no/micro budget level you are going to be doing a fair amount of "run & gun" so you have to be mobile.

Third, production sound should be recorded raw - no compression, no limiting, no EQ - so you can leave all that stuff at home. Also, you will probably not have electricity when you shoot outdoors.