• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Opinions on this hook?

Opinions on this hook? (Short Read)

Now, before a post this just know that I don't have all the proper screenwriting terms down yet. (I'm still learning) I'm going to go back later and edit some of this, but for now I just want to see if this is a good hook. Feel free to help me with the terms but don't bash me for not knowing them. ;)

Darkness Rises (Working Title)​

The lines of a poem are shown on a book crawling across the screen, one line at a time, as the narrator reads them.

Narrator

Darkness Rises, people fall
In his hands, he holds the call
Whether they live, whether they die
He only gets stronger as time slips by
Will he bring life, or will he create scars
One thing is for sure, this life is not ours​

After the poem is read a new voice begins to speak. The voice have a smooth tone, but is full of evil. As it begins to speak a man is seen forming in the shadows.

Shadow Man
This poem is aobut you Jake. On your 18th birthday you're going to recieve powers. Tey're going to overtake you. You're going to want more and more. You're going to begin craving destruction. The wold is going to burn at your hands Jake. It's going to be all your fault. You hear that jake! ALL YOU FAULT!​

Last edited:
I love the poem, but the dialogue needs some work. I don't know. It just doesn't sound authentic. But then again, I have no idea what the story is about nor do I know who these characters are. However, I strongly suspect that you're trying to create an epic story that touches on the human condition and how utterly warped it can get when given enough power. Therefore, I'm certainly interested in reading more.

@myownself, don't worry about screenplay format for now, you (or the script software) can clean that up later if you are focusing only on your hook. Here are some point-blank thoughts:

First impressions: