NTG-2 and what recorder?

I am slowly building my gear and my budget is limited, meaning very low. I am coming from a Canon 50d (magic lantern hack), Zoom H1 with a 'cheap' EM-320E shotgun microphone (http://cheesycam.com/em-320e-shotgun-microphone/ in case you never heard of it) to a Blackmagic Cinema Camera, NTG-2, and I have no idea what field recorder to get.

I've heard cons with the Tascam DR-40 and Zoom h4n with the NTG-2, and those being low volume I believe(?).

What are the cheapest, yet decent, field recorders to use with the NTG-2? I'm not looking for the actual best quality because I am a hobbyist and it's mostly for short films, documentary stuff, etc.

Thanks for any input!

I've heard cons with the Tascam DR-40 and Zoom h4n with the NTG-2, and those being low volume I believe(?).

Not exactly. The NTG-2 does not have as hot an output level as some other shotguns in its price range. In addition, the pre-amps in those recorders do not offer as much clean gain (sometimes not as much gain, period) as one would hope. Put them together, and you have a mic that meeds more gain in the pre-amp and a pre-amp that gets noisy when recording levels are metering right.

You might look a little higher at something like the Fostex FR2-LE or the Tascam HD-P2.

As AcousticAl notes, those recorders - while most common - are incredibad.

If you want the best, you might do:
NTG-3 into SD MM-1 into Sony PCM-D10 line in

To do decent, you might run that NTG-2 into something like, say, this.

Don't forget - you'll want a hyper for indoors, and good mic suspension for both (like an INV7)

As AcousticAl notes, those recorders - while most common - are incredibad.

Not exactly what I intended, though I am not a fan of Zoom recorders at all. The DR-40 is a useful tool, as are many other handheld recorders, but with limitations. If you understand the limitations and can work within or around them, you can get good results.