• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Noobie when it comes to cameras. Need you help pls.

Heys guys.

I want to start writing and directing and send my short films to international festivals. The only camera i have is very weak for that and i don't know in which one i should invest. I would be grateful if you guys help me and give me your opinion.

Thanks and have a nice weekend.

Go up to the search button and look for "best camera" or something along those lines. Your question pops up pretty much every other day, so there will be many threads that should be able to help you. Good luck!

Im no camera expert but i think ive learned from the best.
Every one at this website
Its good for SD but in this day and age you realy want HD just for the fact that virtualy EVERYTHING is HD now. Dont get me wrong that would probably look better then a 120 dollar HD camera you pick up at BestBuy but if you have the money for a HD camera of that "caliber" Then go for it! If not theirs nothing really wrong with SD. And their are some cheaper HD camcorders that look good for example the canon hvXX seriese. Some one correct me if im wrong please?

brianluce is that a really good choice? i've never tought that I could shoot a short film with a camera insted of camcorder. Doe it have manual focus and that stuff? The only problem must be the fact that doesnt support an external microphone. thanks.

Last edited:
brianluce is that a really good choice? i've never tought that I could shoot a short film with a camera insted of camcorder. Doe it have manual focus and that stuff? The only problem must be the fact that doesnt support an external microphone. thanks.

Have a look round the Cameras & Lenses section and try searching the forums - there's a wealth of information already here if you just take the time to look :)

They support external mics, just not via XLR and then need phantom power of some kind.