New Girl Here

Hey guys!

Great to be here! Finally decided to take the plunge and become a filmmaker. Don't know why it's taken me so long to decide, but better late than never I guess! I'm basically here to learn and soak up as much knowledge as possible.

I started out wanting to be a screenwriter. Took some classes and I'm presently working on a script. But I think it's time I start branching out. I'd like to start making shorts. I'm actually in the market for a camera. I've been reading that the Canon Rebel DSLR's are the way to go for a beginner on a small budget. I'm thinking about the Canon Rebel 5i but I need to find out more about it. I know absolutely NOTHING about cameras! But I'm willing to learn. If you can recommend a good book about DSLR's for filmmaking, I'm all ears.

Anyway, this looks like a pretty cool forum and I look forward to learning and participating. Thanks! :)

:):) hi hi, welcome! I am completely new to a lot of this myself but I picked up a Panasonic G7 from Best Buy and love it.

I've read a lot of forum posts and reviews stating how great it is for the price. I got mine for $499.99 last weekend.

Good luck!

Welcome! I'm one of the audio folks here. Below you'll find my audio mantras.

In addition I will, at the outset, give you my very old-school advice. Go out and work on other projects in whatever capacity you can. You'll learn real world indie filmmaking lessons - both positive and negative - at someone else's expense. You will also be building your filmmaking network.

"If you don't use it every day you probably shouldn't own it." This is advice from one of my mentors. Once you're ready to direct your script (if you follow the above advice) you'll hopefully already know many of the people you want to work on your film. Many of them will have equipment. Why buy what someone else already has. You want to direct, correct?

Others will have contrary advice, I'm sure. So on with my audio admonitions…..