Need help narrowing down my list of Pro Camcorders

Hey guys!

I'm an amateur filmmaker and I'm looking into getting a good, affordable Professional Camcorder for less than $3000. I'm in High School and will be needing it to make a collection of videos for my portfolio for colleges, and I want it to last me a long time.

The camera I'm seriously considering at the moment is the Canon XF100 (link here). It's perfect for my budget, seems very highly rated, and has a lot of features and extremely high quality footage

I can deal with the CF cards' price and gain problems that people are talking about (seems to have been fixed in a firmware update and with the custom profiles people have made). What concerns me is that people are saying that one CMOS 1/3" sensor isn't good enough. Also, it is almost two years old.

What are your guys' thoughts? What else should I look into? (I am NOT getting a DSLR or any variation)

Thanks
-David

Last edited:
That canon is a great camera. 4:2:2 color sampling at 50mb/s 24p and 30p recording.

Understand you aren't interested in a DSLR. But I will say, one of the things a lot of independent film makers are interested in, is achieving that shallow depth of field. If you don't know what that is, that's when you have a subject in focus, with an out of focus background. When I was younger and messed around with my first "camcorder", that was the thing that disappointed me the most, was I wasn't able to get this.

The sensor size is where this comes into play. With a 1/3" sensor, pretty much everything you shoot, everything in frame, will be 100% in focus.

Now since you are more interested in a camcorder as opposed to a DSLR, here are some suggestions that I think you might be interested in looking into, that are in your price range.

First Sony NEXVG20. They are replacing this soon, and good deals are to be had. You get get any number of E mount lens, and with have good capabilities.