• Popcorn Points determine how popular a video is. You can click the popcorn bucket or simply react (Like, Love, etc.) and it will register a vote.

My first short film is done!

I haven’t publicly released it yet, but this is my first ever horror short film solely edited and directed by me, a 16 year old.
Some early feedback and thoughts would be immensely helpful for me! Thanks

Upvote 0
Good work! Unlike some of us, who just talk about filming, you actually did it. I'm not an expert, but perhaps the others in this forum can give you feedback, and perhaps you may be inspired to try again.

Major kudos to you! I'll admit that I only skimmed it, but you had some unique camera angles from what I could see. The reason I skimmed was the length. It's hard for me to sit down and commit to 20 minutes from someone that I know nothing about. A piece of advice I was given early on after I too did a 20 minute "short" was that shorts should be SHORT. 1-5 minutes tops. If I have some time, I will sit down and watch this all the way through, but for now, it's just too long for me. That said, I know the amount of work that goes into creating a movie and the fact that your first one is 20 minutes is super impressive!

My challenge to you would be to do a three minute short. I think if you can put the same amount of thought and care into a three minute movie, you'll blow us all away! :)

Last edited:
Hi Nolan,

I personally like fast paced stories with music and dialogue, and typically shy away from horror in general.
This was so slow that I turned the speed to 2x and it still felt slow to me, but again, I don't watch horror films.

I'm definitely not your target audience! The only silent films I've enjoyed are comedy.

For some constructivce criticism.. I did not like the ambient noise that you picked. It's kinda harsh and grating.
It works for short scenes but to have 20 straight minutes of that noise was very unpleasant.