My feature film got greenlit for $5 million by an investment firm. What do I do now?

A private investment firm greenlit my feature film script that I will be directing, producing and acting in. The project has a 5 million dollar budget. My lawyer is finishing up negotiations with the firm now. The funds aren't available yet but they will be in around 45 days. What do I do now? I want to move forward and start the ball rolling to get into production but this is my first time in this position. I don't want to just sit around and wait for the money. I want to be proactive. I figured out what to do to get to the money. Now that I have that covered I don't know what to do next. I have the script myself and the money. No attached cast, no attached crew. I have a clear vision for production. But I'm not even officially in pre-production. I have met with a well known EP and she is reading it, there is a good chance she will come on board. Unitl that happens and before I get access to funds I can readily use for pre-purduction what can I do and what do I need to do to prepare as well as move things forward? I need all the advice I can get.

Best Regards,

Ghost

To GuerrillaAngel : My film is getting funded. I have no access to funds for pre-production yet. I want to move forward and get things ready and going. But I don't know what steps to take or what I should already be getting ready. I understand what I need to do once I have money to use in hand. But I wanted advice on what I can do now.

Last edited:
You could do some simple pre-production like scouting locations, if you'll be shooting local to where you are.

You could ask for sample work and references from storyboard artists, if you're not doing that yourself.

You could put together a "dream cast" list - who you would see in each role, if budget weren't an object. This will help a casting director (again, if that's not something you're doing yourself) know what "type" you have in mind for roles.