Movie making. The basics as I currently understand them.

Firstly I want to point out that I am a newbie to movie making myself. I do not want people to confuse my thoughts and views here as if they are the be all and end all of what is correct. To take such a stance would be pure arrogance, and I would be putting you wrong. There will be others with far more understanding then I on pretty much every topic I am going to touch upon here, and when they speak, they are absolutely worth listening to. Some will agree with me, others will disagree on points, and others again will entirely disagree and for me, that is the true value of these forums. It is through reading such debates myself that I have come to understand quite a few things from differing perspectives both for and against techniques, ideas, skills etc and it is those members mentions of the pros and cons of such topics that I have been able to follow their sound reasoning behind their views to come to my own decisions.

Further. I will term some things in the way that I understand them in my head and there will be others that use their own terminology, and/or "correct" terminology which I am still learning. So please be patient with me if you don't understand.

The first thing I wish to clarify for all new film makers is this. No position, skill, or person involved in movie making is more important then another. They are all hugely vital if you wish to make good film, and if one falls over, the entire film falls over. I want now to discuss some of the main roles required to make a movie.

Script