• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Me doing a horror film?

Ok well im about to start to write my first script and its going to be a horror flick. I want it to be a serial killer type like Jason or Mike Myers. Its weird, i have all these ideas in my head, i have some great ideas for some scenes...one problem is tying everything together like why is the killer killing people?. Would u guys sudgest me doing a short or a feature im going to be directing it myself if it comes out good(or to my likeing). I have no real experience with narative films besides a cupple music videos ive helped out on but i think i would be able to do it. Am i in over my head? Any tips on would help!

You should definitely make a short first and then worry about doing a feature once you've already been through the whole process of completing a film.

Try to think of an original story idea, plan the beginning, middle, and end, and then begin writing. Use a limited amount of characters and locations if you're just going to do a short.

Hopefully that helps a bit.

Begin with building a story.
Story = Characters + Conflict + Resolution
20110720StoryConstraints-Compact.jpg

You can get your killer/antagonist (with a plausible motivation) through the steps in this chart in a sensible three to five minutes.

Assuming there's a edit/cut every two seconds that's thirty edits per minute, so 90 to 150 edits to shoot and cut ought to give you plenty to begin with.

Plan your story around settings you have simple, easy access to: Home, friend's home, school grounds after school or over the weekend, the woods, the shore, train tracks, bridges, commercial property for sale, service areas behind strip malls, parking lots.

Be discrete when shooting in public.
Plan, plan again, review the plan with your peeps, get in get done get gone.

Don't make us listen to terrible audio.