lenses?!?

Ok im new to dslrs and i am ordering my gh1 tomarow.

Im wondering on kinds of lenses for different stuff.

I know a 50mm 1.2/1.4/1.8 is a must.

I was wondering is the 14-42mm kit lens that comes with the gh1 any good? Im deciding to get just body or kit?

I also have a new 80-28mm Eos lens. i know i would need an adapter for that.

What kind of lens would be the best if i was useing a steadicam? because i know u cant really adjust the focus if your using one.

any other lenses you would recemend for different types of shots please let me know! thanks

Lots of stuff on this in the newbie and cinematography section.

Check it out and if you have any questions after that, just ask here again.

But basically and generally, you need about 3 primes to begin with. Something to cover the wide, standard and long depending on the crop factor of your camera.

If you're on an extremely tight budget, you can always just use the kit lens with any DSLR. It may not produce the best results but they are good enough to get by while you save up. But in the end, you'll need faster lenses.

I produced an award winning short using just the 14-42 kit lens, so it's capable. It's not the best for low light, and I definitely prefer using prime lenses, but it works in a pinch. The one advantage to the kit lens, or any Panasonic lens it that they have auto focus. While I never use it for narrative work, if you're just going out to take a few pictures having a lens that can autofocus is handy.