Lav mic set up help

hi all,

can somebody give me some advise on a lav set up, including the recievers. I have a budget of around 200 which isnt much I know but its all i got atm. i would like a set of two but can live with one so any help is much apreciated as i am very new to the lav mic area.

many thanks.

The absolute minimum I would ever consider is a Sennheiser G3 system at $600 each, and I would probably replace the lavs with the CountryMan B-6 lavs, another $300.

There's plenty of cheap stuff out there and in the $100 to $200 range it's mostly VHF, which is very prone to interference and drop-outs. You may want to check out the Audio Technica Pro 88 series.

Hiding lavs AND getting good sound is difficult even under the best of circumstances with decent gear; be prepared to do A LOT of experimenting and have A LOT of patience.

The cheap Wireless setups I have bought and used were a joke. More trouble than they were worth. Static city, buzzing and more of a novelty than a useful tool is what I found. I tried the Audio Technica Pro 88 and they were a waste IMO, anytime they got near lights I would get a lot of static and sometimes just bursts of pure static over the dialog.

My solution to keep it cheap was to use a pocket digital recorder ( Olympus VN8100PC ) and a lav mic, One hurdle, you can only monitor before and after each take, but it is better than the low budget wireless units I have tried.

Last edited:
well this is mocumentary so I allow room for imperfections on this one it could add to the authentisity, I just want something that is realiable, functional and clear. So VHF i can live with (have to live with on my budget). Thanks for the suggestion alcove it gives me a jump off point.