Juno/Indiewood

Hi there.

I'm a film student at the University of Warwick and I'm writing an essay on the indie teen film. I just wondered if anyone had anything to say about Juno in relation to independent cinema? My research so far has lead me to come to a tentative conclusion that Hollywood has adopted the indie aesthetic and conventions to create commercial teen films, such as Juno...I am also looking at and thinking about Adventureland, Boys Don't Cry, Superbad, Brick, Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist; films like that!

Any thoughts/reviews/opinions would be greatly appreciated as I'm sure you guys have a lot to say about the subject!

Cheers.

xoxox

Welcome to indietalk!

I'm interested in how you can to this tentative conclusion.
I'm always interested in peoples views on "Hollywood" and
"indie" especially when it comes to aesthetic and customs.

While all the films listed have a similar look and feel to them, I wouldn't necessarily equate that to an indie asthetic. It's kind of like the film implementation of Seattle Grunge. :)

The indiewood feel is just an other mask of the Hollywood system. IF you want to control a country, control the government and control the the group who see conspiration in this government.

After pulp fiction, the big guy saw a new market and took control of it. You think Sundance is about indie filmmaking, give me a break.

I think out of all of those, the only one that stood out as noteworthy (that I've seen) is Brick. I found that to be much truer to Indie roots than Adventureland, Superbad, Juno, and some others.

I know they claim to be "indie" but you just can't have that much star attachment to it with what is typically regarded as an indie budget. Tarantino, Rodriguez, Nolan, and Kevin Smith, I think, are far more closer to what indie is with their first films than what is out now.