I've added 4 old articles...

I've added 4 older articles to my website I'd written for the "1000 dollar film" project ezine produced at one point by an indietalk alum.

I've put links to them in the "Articles" box near the top right of my page. The ezine is no longer, but the content it contains is quite valid still.

http://www.yafiunderground.com

tell me what you think. I did only ever produce these 4 before the project got cancelled, but I'm happy with the work.

To be complete, I'll add them here. I'm constantly reminding folks that posts to other sites are promotional... so I'll bring the content here :) I'd still appreciate your taking a look at the site though as I have other good stuff there as well, including our entire journey from "can't stand watching it" to "not bad"

01.Intro

My name is Cole McDonald. I am a filmmaker. Over the past 5 years, I've been pursuing the craft and art of filmmaking. I've shot 8 shorts and 1 feature in that time. As most of my learning was done online for free, I believe that I should "Pay It Forward". In order to share what I've learned, We'll need to start with a couple of philosophical stances I will present:

1) Time = Money, Filmmaking is a really expensive endeavor. Even the cheapest of productions that hit any kind of tangible distribution can cost tens of thousands of dollars. I haven't had money to spend on productions, so I've pursued the process from that perspective. Realistically, People buy houses now for tens of thousands of dollars, whereas in the past, pioneers have spent time instead to fell trees, cut logs, and build houses without the benefit of a budget. Existing resources and time were spent on these homes. I've been applying this same concept to filmmaking and I believe that a little determination and dedication can provide opportunities to become a filmmaker even if you can't afford film school or equipment, or big stars, or a dozen cars to crash in flaming balls of twisted metal wreckage.