Introduction, and advice?

Hello,

It's been two years since I decided to quit school as a Graphic Designer and persue film... problem... I have yet to persue film, per say. I am a soldier in the CF Army Reserve, I am also currently Deployed. I own three cameras (Sanyo camcorder, an HV40, and most recently an XL1s, which is waiting for me at home)

When I get back I will hopefully be attending one of Ontario's Colleges for film in the 2011 Fall semester, perferably Confederation in Thunder Bay.

I'm a visual person and a creative individual (reasons for persuing GD) but I feel that I need to tell stories. Be they fact or fiction, real or acted. Being deployed has put some perspective on some issues that I have, for instance I am now interested in the idea of becoming a Videographer, get embeded with people and film what they see. I realize that it is difficult to get into that field however that is one of my possible goals.

I also know that the industry is a large portion of, who you know, not, what you know.

I am your quintessential newbie to this industry, I have written a few shorts, but I lack the knowledge or the resources to get them produced. What I am looking for is advice on how I should start, who I should talk to, and what door should I would through.

Regards,

~Thanato

You should start by making short films. You should
talk to fellow filmmakers, You should go through any
door you can open. You get to know people by making
movies and by working in the industry.

Everyone lacks the knowledge and the resources to get
their script produced. So you do what everyone has done
in the past; you gain the knowledge and build the resources.
Your first few short films might be pretty bad, they might
even be unwatchable and horrible. Most of your fellow
filmmakers made some pretty bad movies as they gained
knowledge - most of the famous directors made some pretty
bad movies as they gained knowledge. That might be the
path you need to follow.