• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

INT. or EXT. in this circumstance?

Hello everyone,

I am extremely new to film making, and am currently attempting to write my first screenplay for a short film - an assignment for my course.

I just wanted advice on one particular issue. In one scene, a bus driver sits and reads the newspaper (inside the bus) on a 5 minute break. So, the bus is EXT. but the character is technically INT. What do I write in the script?

Many thanks for all your help.

Where is the camera to be located? Is the camera going to be sitting outside of the bus looking in at the driver? Or is the camera in the bus?

The interior of a vehicle counts as INT. unless the action of the scene takes place outside the vehicle. Say, a shot of two people talking in a car is INT. THE CAR, while a shot of someone sitting in a car when someone walks up and knocks on the window, if shot from outside the car, is EXT. THE CAR. If the scene goes between the two, it's an INT/EXT scene. (an example of this would be a cop pulling someone over, you transition from the person in the car fumbling for their license to the cop outside walking up and tapping on the window within the same scene.)

Where is the camera to be located? Is the camera going to be sitting outside of the bus looking in at the driver? Or is the camera in the bus?

The interior of a vehicle counts as INT. unless the action of the scene takes place outside the vehicle. Say, a shot of two people talking in a car is INT. THE CAR, while a shot of someone sitting in a car when someone walks up and knocks on the window, if shot from outside the car, is EXT. THE CAR. If the scene goes between the two, it's an INT/EXT scene. (an example of this would be a cop pulling someone over, you transition from the person in the car fumbling for their license to the cop outside walking up and tapping on the window within the same scene.)