tv Indie TV Show / Documentary instead of Feature Films

Hi all,

Please work with me a bit as I'm very new to all this, but I've been a closet enthusiast for years.

I admire most people's dream here of making a full length feature film, but I personally would enjoy the process just the same in shorter length made for TV shows like "Dirty Jobs" or "Top Gear" or "Build it Bigger".

I figure if some people are funding entire indie full length films, maybe I could fund a 24 or ~48 minute pilot of a show.

My idea comes from the fact that a few years ago I was working on a small time NASCAR race team and the owner paid $30k to made an hour long mini movie about the team. They ended up shopping it around and sold it for around $40k to a major channel. So now the guy has his passion and team documented, and $10k in the bank. I surprised they pulled it off. But this was also in 2005 when money was flowing freely I think, and those kinds of shows were even more in demand. I'm obviously not in this for the money, as $10k for all the work and risk is just a random gift. But experiencing $30k of excitement and energy while doing what you love, if you have the time somehow, has to be worth getting up for in the morning. Don't quit your day job huh. (I sell cars actually, although I have an engineering degree. Yes, my parents hate me.)

What are your guys' opinions and thoughts about this kind of process instead of going all out in a 90 minute film?

Last edited:
I think the web is the future and that a web series in place of a feature documentary is a good way to go these days. Personally, my last project was a feature length doc, but my next project will probably be done in web series format.