• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

How much contrast is too much?

I am practicing with color grading to get a certain look. I like the ideas of high contrasts used in some movies like Saving Private Ryan. I tried pushing the contrast a little in different shots. I can shoot on no contrast and do it in post as well, but I did it in camera this time to an idea of where to be, since I am still learning 'curves' in post and what not.

How much contrast gets to the point where it's too much in these shots do you think? Pardon the bad lighting, as I did this under natural light:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qT_cqfONRac&feature=youtu.be

It's also hard to judge cause different contrast looks much different under different lighting, but you want to pick one setting for the whole movie, so the picture matches from shot to shot of course. Thanks!

Last edited:
"This video is private. "

I am just getting into this with my feature. It's the last thing to do and I've been putting it off. I have a character wearing all black in a scene and what stopped me upping the contrast was the point in which I started losing detail on the blacks.

It works now. I think you could probably go further with the contrast.

Also,

but you want to pick one setting for the whole movie.

I might not be understanding this right, but I am going through mine scene by scene to get the right look. If I applied one blanket setting to my whole timeline, some dark scenes would just be too dark. Forgive me if I misunderstood you. :)

And I am not an expert. Not by any stretch of the imagination.