how many shotguns/booms?

OK - so I'm an audio engineer who knows his way around the studio fairly well but I'm totally unfamiliar with film, and got this job working with an indie film maker, thinking it would be fun to expand my horizons. I must say though, it's a whole different animal than music or advertising. So, I need to ask a few questions. Number one, how many booms does the typical indie film (non 5.1 - I've not invested in an encoder, and don't plan to until I get paid a bit for this) make use of at one time? I'll be giving recommendations on what to buy and include in their budget. I'm thinking 2-3 MXL shotgun mics, and bringing an extra stereo matched cardioid small diaphragm pair from the studio just in case. Maybe another mic based on budget...we shall see. I still have to get a flight case for my desktop pc, and gear. Yay for beating the budget with a stick. I've worked clean up on lavalier mics before...and always end up getting called in to remove noise that is absolutely un-fixable. So if your suggestions don't include lavs I'll smile more, but whatever you guys use, let me know. As I said, I'm new to film.

One shotgun for outdoors, one hypercardioid for indoors to start. Two booms simultaneously isn't needed very often. Dialog is recorded in mono. If your mixer/recorder allows send the dialog to two (2) channels and set the level for one of them lower to account for possible distorting transient peaks.

Go with a basic production sound mixer/recorder; you're going to be a one man sound crew so you'll need to carry everything. (BTW, the folks below are collecting sound effects, not doing production sound, but the principle is the same; the guy in the foreground is carrying a mixer, a recorder and several wireless receivers.)

l.jpg