Hi everyone

Just signed up having browsed the forum for a few days, looks like it will be very useful and you all seem a decent enough bunch ;)

I'm a total newbie to the whole filmmaking scene but looking to get started working hard as soon as I possibly can.

I'm working with a friend writing a screenplay for my first film directing, and the time between its completion is hopefully the time I cram in as much info as I can from books and a few local courses, as well as messing about with a camera of course.

Look forward to reading some of the threads and hopefully getting a bit of help now and again

Cheers

Chris :)

I'm not. Welcome! That sounds like my plan for shooting the movie I'm working on now. Go for it and learn something new every day!

Welcome MrFootball!

The only thing I can offer right now is that I suggest you start small and work up to a feature. Learn by doing. At least that's the way I like to do things.

Projects:
1) less than 5 minutes, tell a defined story.
2) about 5 minutes, tell a defined scripted story.
3) 10-15 minutes, same as #2, with better lighting
4) same as #3 with some camera motion and better angles, might want to start story boarding here.
5) same as #4 with better audio

from here, move up to longer pieces as you now have all the building blocks. Learn to get coverage (master shot, singles of each actor), work the scenes more complex as you go along. Start with simple blocking and work your way up. each piece should build off the last and toward the next in structure. Find a style of production that works for you and your posse of film folk. Each new piece should introduce a new layer of complexity that will become part of your tool box, learn something new everyday. Play with the lighting early on (screw continuity for now, you're learning).

And most importantly, have fun and ask lots of questions, even if you think they are stupid ones!

<edit>How much do they charge for film school? I could make a mint!</edit>