HELP NEEDED WITH SHOT LIST for short film

I’m getting close to making my second no-budget short film. I’ve been visiting indietalk now for three years and have learned a lot, even though I have much more to learn. My first film was a zombie movie with a Don’t Do Drugs message targeting teens. This next project is a Dark Haunting Ghost story with a Don’t Drink and Drive message. Anyway I have a script, I have most locations locked down with the others close to securing. I have a talented DP, a Special Makeup and Effects Artist, an editor, crew, and most of the cast.

I just cannot figure out how to create a short list. I hoping that one you experienced filmmakers will help me out with this. Of course I will give you screen credit. Email me, brucedowns@gmail.com if you are interested in helping. Once I have the shot list I will use it for the film as well as use it as a learning tool for future projects. Thanks, Bruce

In all honesty, a shot list can be a very simple thing:

Master
MW 2-shot
OTS perspective 1
OTS perspective 2
CU actor 1
CU actor 2
Ultra-CU actor 1
Ultra-CU actor 2
CU prop 1
CU prop 2
Cutaway (cat in window)

That would be a very basic shot list. Of course it gets more complicated as the scene gets more complicated, I'm just illustrating that there actually can be a rather generic way of going about this.

From there, you can add more specific shots, more creative shots that each have a very specific motivation. There are some filmmakers who do nothing but shoot in this manner, and God bless them.

For an inexperienced filmmaker, I really think maximum coverage is the way to go. Get all your generic shots that would qualify as maximum coverage. Then, go ahead and get the creative shots that are more cool, and more fun.