• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Help needed for effect on Final Cut Pro

Hi guys,
I'm a very inexperienced editor and was after some help for an effect I wanted to create using FCP.

There's a scene with a couple in their bedroom talking. Behind them is a photo of them when they were younger.

I was hoping to zoom in towards the photograph until it fills the frame and then the clip used for the still (photograph) would begin to play.

I'll need a similar sort of transition three more times.

Do I just film the scene with a photograph in the background then paste the still of my clip over that?

Would I still be able to zoom in effectively and retain the quality of the still?

I hope I was clear with what I'm trying to do, any help - as well as considerations when filming to maximise the success of the effect - would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys.

Do I just film the scene with a photograph in the background then paste the still of my clip over that?
Yes, that's one way to do it. The other option is to put green paper in the photo frame itself. That way your still will still look somewhat like there is glass over it. Then after you zoom in, fade in the clean footage and fade out the chroma-keyed footage.

Would I still be able to zoom in effectively and retain the quality of the still?

As long as your clip is good enough quality, it should be fine. Do you plan on zooming in on your clip more than 100%? Is your footage going to be HD?

Hope that helps. The best way to learn is by trying it out. So, grab your camera and just do a boring test shot. See if you can master the effect you are going for. It's going to make it look that much better when you use it on your actual project :)

Don't digitally zoom in too much...there is a set number you should not pass...I can't recall the exact amount, but you can find the amount by zooming yourself, and seeing what is usable quality and what isn't.