Helloooooooo

Hey Guys-

I am a filmmaker from Brooklyn NY with a focus on post production. I work as a Flame artist doing VFX and color grading!

When adding smoke I do one of two things...

1. Use smoke that has been filmed/film some smoke on either a green or black background (typically black). Key it/blend it using a variety of additive modes.
2. Build smoke using Flame's particle system. I know this is also an option in Nuke. However, I do not have much experience with that- or After effects which may have options as well.

What have you got access to?

When adding smoke I do one of two things...

1. Use smoke that has been filmed/film some smoke on either a green or black background (typically black). Key it/blend it using a variety of additive modes.
2. Build smoke using Flame's particle system. I know this is also an option in Nuke. However, I do not have much experience with that- or After effects which may have options as well.

What have you got access to?

After Effects with no access to particle unfortunately.

Looked at your reel...that was some nice work

Last edited:
Thank you very much.

Without access to particles, your best bet may be something like the action essentials video elements. Or, getting the shot(s) to a compositor. How many have you got?

nice work. I get jealous every time I meet someone who actually makes a living from the business. I met someone the other day who makes a good living doing 3d modelling for a film company up here. Man I was so jealous.

:)

Thank you very much.

Without access to particles, your best bet may be something like the action essentials video elements. Or, getting the shot(s) to a compositor. How many have you got?

I have not shot the film that would need smoke yet. It is outside of my budget right now to do that film but I am always planning ahead, trying to develop skills now to be used later.