Hello

Hi guys, I am brand new here, and I am brand new to the world of film. I am looking to start shooting a short to get my feet wet; because film has always been a media that I love. My background is in acting though, and I have next to no knowledge of the technical side of film making. In fact the only camera I have had the chance to touch beyond best buy stuff is a red. Some of my questions as of the moment are, what are some good lower budget camera's to rent? I would love to rent a red, but I can not find anywhere to rent them. Budget is not to big an issue I mostly just need to look at what the proper gear is to get an idea of what my budget should be. I all ready have a decent script I am looking at using, but in the end this first short is for me to get a good feel for how to tell a story using this type of media. I am looking at using a shotgun mic on a bomb to catch the actors voices, and a couple of fernels with umbrellas to get my lighting right. That gear I think I will buy. It is on the cheaper end of things, and it runs in what seems to be a similar range as buying it would be. My biggest question is about cameras, and whether to go hd or to go 35mm what are good places to rent, and how hard is it to edit 35mm. What challenges are likely to be their in the technical aspects, and is anyone here in the Seattle area of Washington that could possibly help look at this or let me help on some of their projects to get an idea of what I am doing. I am not new to being on a set I am an actor, but this end has always caught my interest a bit more. Thank you for your time.

As far as what camera and format you want to go with, I think it depends on the story, how its being told, and what your budget is.