Hello from a zero-experience newbie.

Hello. I'm here because I've had a few ideas for short films, but I have no experience or professional teaching so I thought I'd seek out a community. I'm 20 and live in Glasgow, and I've started on the screenplay for my first short. I thought my first major problem would be finding actors, but it's turned out that a decent camera, editing software, and equipment (tripods, etc.) are going to have to be the first things I tackle. Can't have an entire film shot shaky-cam with a phone... ;) Hope I fit in here.

Welcome.jpg

I always recommend working in any capacity available on any project you can find to gain practical experience. Just as important are the networking possibilities.

And, of course, as one of the resident audio gurus I have to add:

Your project will only look as good as it sounds, because
"Sound is half of the experience"

If your film looks terrible but has great sound, people might just think it's your aesthetic.
If your film looks great and has bad sound, people will think you're an amateur.
Sound is the first indicator to the industry that you know what you're doing.

Last edited:
Hello there. Why not get a cheap tripod, gaffer tap your phone to it and voila, steady footage. Then shoot a short with it. :)

Hello there. Why not get a cheap tripod, gaffer tap your phone to it and voila, steady footage. Then shoot a short with it. :)