• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Getting rights to remake a song

I want to do some parody songs in my films. Using a song melody that I like and change the lyrics to something else. So how much are royalities do they get and how do I make an agreement where I don't have to keep asking permission all the time say if I want to release it on DVD, iTunes, Netflex, and even a soundtrack album and mp3s with the song included.

Also long as it's completely re-made it's fine.

I'm no expert in any way. But I'd be willing to bet that's not correct. Weird Al always had to ask permission of the artist/song writer to use their intellectual property for his parodies. Rewriting the lyrics makes no difference. Someone created and/or owns the rights to the music. They may not ask for money up front, but if you plan to release for monetary gain, they'll want their cut. They may event want approval over the rewrite of the lyrics. If they don't approve, they may not allow you. If you're not looking for monetary gain, you're probably alright to do it. I listen to Howard Stern, and they do song Parodies all day. I think there is a difference in doing the for monitary gain or not.

Also long as it's completely re-made it's fine.

No, this is incorrect. There can be (and usually are) several copyrights attached to a song; composition, lyrics, recording and arrangement. By rerecording the song you bypass the copyright on the recording but not on the composition/arrangement. To create a new arrangement you would need permission from the composition copyright holder (usually the composer).

G

Weird Al always had to ask permission of the artist/song writer to use their intellectual property for his parodies. Rewriting the lyrics makes no difference.