• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Get Screenwriter?

Hello, I've been writing for a short film recently and I had a question for the screenwriting aspect of it. I'm a good writer and I am the writer of this film as well as the director, but should I get a screenwriter on the project or should I do it myself?

Hello, I've been writing for a short film recently and I had a question for the screenwriting aspect of it. I'm a good writer and I am the writer of this film as well as the director, but should I get a screenwriter on the project or should I do it myself?
If you can find a screenwriter who you like working with that might
be a great collaboration. If you can't, better to do it yourself.

Well, I know I could do it. I basically wrote it all in my head, and now I'm putting it into text. But I wasn't sure if I should have someone who specializes in screenwriting to help as well. And also I had questions on if collaborating on the screenwriting process would be good or not?

Nah.

You can do it.

You're going to be directing it.
You know how the story goes.
Just write it.
Cast it.
Shoot it.
Edit it.
Present it to wherever you want it to go.

No need to make a big hairy deal out of it.

GL!

Not a strange question at all.

And also I had questions on if collaborating on the screenwriting process would be good or not?
Collaborating on the screenwriting process can be very rewarding.
It can also be filled with problems and creatively stressful. It all
depends on the personalities of the people involved.

I don't understand why should there be more than 1 writer to a script. I think that's confusing. If I would hire another writer to my film, when I've written a script, that will be a professional. And I would hire him more for fixing the script, making small changes, rather than for his innovations.