• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Editing Progress for digital shots

A while ago I came on trying to get some answers with editing photos and posted some pics. By request some wanted to see how I had been progressing (I didn't know where else to post this-but seeing as this is post-production, and we're using digital (still) photography, it was applicable :)

Pics shot with Canon 930zr: this "before" is the first: Original "edit" done on Premiere Elements:

5247269288_5f8c3098f6_z.jpg

This "after" edited on GIMP:

5246667737_7a2c5fe664_z.jpg

I note it's not the "same" pose, but you can spot the differences (though there are some errors even in this one)

This was my first "GIMP" edited photo-I ended up doing a series of 4 "sisters" photos. If anyone wants to see other pics, PM me and I'll give you my Flickr name. :)

More to follow, but this is for starters :)

Learn to cut people out better.

Like I said, I'm still learning- I've only been at this at most 4-5 months :)

I deliberately choose the "worst" looking pics to show progress :)

See, I originally used Premiere, and did the "masking" tool, to work around the various characters.

It was only with Gimp I started using "cut/paste" and layering, feathering ect. I have other work with is a lot better, but a couple of people asked to see the "process" :)

EDIT: I actually, from an artistic standpoint, was trying to AVOID cutting and pasting: I've seen too many "cut/paste" photos that look just that, lay down a flat background (like chairs) and then cut and paste and put figures down in their "proper" places-I'd rather go the Masking/layering route-overlaying, feathering, blending. It's a lot more work, yes-but I'm not doing this for money-I don't plan on selling these, it's more of a "lets how far I can push this" in creativity: it's the process, not the final product, that is important to me :)

Last edited: