• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Editing machine

Hi. I'm new to this, in every possible sense so I'm just gonna get right to it and you can laugh later. I have about 20 hours worth of digital footage (mini DV) on a variety of topics and I need a computer o edit it on. A friend of mine knows how to get me good deals on all the parts I'll need and he can snap it all together like it was lego... BUT I don't have a clue what hard ware I need.
Basically what I'm looking for, from any kind person out there, is to fill in the following blanks.

PROCESSOR:
HARD DRIVE:
RAM:
VIDEO CARD:
SOUND CARD:
MOTHER BOARD:

I don't need anything too fancy. Just reliable hardware that could run some recent software. I'm sure almost everyone goes the digital rout by now so if something has worked for you please let me know. Thank you.
(My apologies if this question is better suited for the DV section. I thought long and hard about it)

You'll want lots and lots of RAM. No less than 1 gig of it. 2 gigs will put a smile on your face.

You can get by with a 1ghz processor... but that's the minimum. It's not that expensive to get a 2ghz or greater one, these days... and the faster it is, the faster the video will "render" when it's time. Try to get the fastest one you can, but if you need to keep within a budget just make sure it's no less than 1.

Harddrives are very important. It needs to have 7200 RPM or greater. If you get a slower one (often in laptops) of 5400 RPM or 4800 RPM, you will suffer from "dropped frames" when trying to import fullsize video.

Ideally you should have two (or more) harddrives, as well. The first one to run Windows, your editing software and whatever other stuff you have going... and the second one to save the video files to. It is possible to do it all on a single drive, but performance will suffer and you may drop frames too, when that harddrive needle-thing is jumping all over the place.