• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

DSLRS - Focusing On Yourself?

Hey Everyone,

This question has been irking me for awhile now, and I stumble into issues with it every week. So, I realize this question may come off as stupid, so please be gentle with your responses ;)

As a Youtube Musician, I find myself filming myself a lot, usually about twice a week. Now, I shoot all my videos with a T3i. My normal set up is to set up the camera, get myself in the frame, and then shoot a couple small test videos to ensure I'm in focus. However, I've always struggled with this because I don't have the best vision, and the small screen on the camera sometime deceives me. I find that in about a third of my shots, I'm slightly out of focus as a result of having difficulty focusing on myself. Usually this sort of thing is difficult to see on the small camera screen.

So, I ask all of you - Is there a more conclusive way to ensure that I'm in focus when self-shooting videos? Possibly a way to auto-focus the camera once I'm in place for the shot?

Again, I realize this may be an odd question. Thanks for any help you can provide!

I ask all of you - Is there a more conclusive way to ensure that I'm in focus when self-shooting videos?

Shoot in a well-lit room, so you can stop down the aperture. If you are shooting at F2.8 (for example), you have a fairly shallow depth of field. Even just rocking towards & away from the camera can be enough to swing you in & out of focus.

If you change the aperture to 5.6, for example, you'll discover you have a lot more distance to work with - the tradeoff being that you either need to add more light, or raise the ISO setting.

Experiment a bit, and find what you need for your particular needs. The basic idea is fairly simple (aper vs iso) ; but like anything, the finesse comes much harder later.

If you want to get all spergy, and have precise numbers & tolerances & hyperfocals & more: