• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

DSLR lighting settings?

When shooting on DSLR in low light, is it best to leave the ISO so that the image is dark on camera and then brighten it in post production or raise the ISO so that the video image is brighter on the camera display? I've finished shooting my first short film but am curious about the proper technique for my future projects.

I think I may have dramatically changed the shutter speed to compensate for lighting as well. ( 1/50, etc.)

I would certainly not shoot in higher ISO if I have access to prober lighting equipment.
post production does not improve the dynamic range of an already shot scene... from what I have experienced.

I am confused when u write about shutter speed... I thought u are shooting video in digital?
or are you taking still images?

i'm no expert, but i believe part of this answer depends on if you are recording raw, proRes, h.264, etc.. what format is your recording in?

if it's h.264 you will add a lot of noise trying to increase the light in post.

It really depends on your level of acceptable noise. What are you shooting? I'd be inclined to never shoot over 400 ISO on a standard DSLR, shooting narrative.

On a doco it might be different, on a hacked DSLR it might be different

It really depends on how much noise you're happy introducing into your shots. Then it's a matter of balancing the look you want versus the noise you're going to get - for example, you can't shoot in available light at night on a DSLR at 200 ISO - you either have to add light, or bump up the ISO, thereby adding noise.

On higher end cameras, it gets even more complicated, because your ISO also determines dynamic range. Therefore, I tend to select my ISO based on what I think looks better noise and DR-wise (it can change per film), then decide my shooting stop and light to that.