• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Documentary Proposal critera

I tried doing searches, but couldn't get what I was looking for.

I am thinking about writing a proposal for a documentary idea I have. Yes it will have to be written and reworked, but I want to at least get the practice.

If I am writing to a production company, proposing a documentary, what critera should I consider?

I know my subject (mask history). I THINK I know that there are two ways I can do it: I can submit the proposal to them with the idea that THEY would produce it, or where *I* would produce it, in which case it would be more about "would you financially support" type of thing.

Other than that I am a TOTAL newbie in this area-so if anyone could list, from their experiences and knowledge, the type of things I should consider for critera when making my proposal (besides dollars, that's easy lol)

EDIT: if you're wondering scope, of thinking of a multi-part documentary, detailing mask history from it's earliest indications (on Cave Paintins) to modern day usage-and I'm not just talking Halloween and Costume celebrations-I'm talking about there various uses in things like sports, Arts, and day to day usage, including protective equipment.

Yes I don't lack ambition :D

Last edited:
Would it be appropriate to ask the production company for a hour sit-down on what sort of format and criteria they require for an optimal submission?

FWIW, it sounds like an interesting enough subject for History Channel.

Nice PDF find, too!

Would it be appropriate to ask the production company for a hour sit-down on what sort of format and criteria they require for an optimal submission?

FWIW, it sounds like an interesting enough subject for History Channel.

Nice PDF find, too!

Yea, that PDF-I had to work to find it! I did hours of digging and searching, cross-referencing...