• READ BEFORE POSTING!
    • If posting a video, please post HERE, unless it is a video as part of an advertisement and then post it in this section.
    • If replying to threads please remember this is the Promotion area and the person posting may not be open to feedback.

watch Dead Serious

Hi, I'm a student in the UK and recently re-discovered this forum.

I've been working on a visual style, that uses almost entirely cardboard props. Inspired heavily by Rob Schrab.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-hE2NAItpw

This video is a test of that style, and by posting here I'm hoping to get some feedback on it. This isn't about the narrative of the short, which I made up on the spot, or quality of my voice acting skills, so please don't tell me they're rubbish because I know, haha.

Anyway, hopefully that embed code works, if not I'll just post a link.

Thanks.

First, welcome!

In regards to your clip, this is not really animation, ie: the action is not motivated frame by frame. It's *live* footage with stick propelled cut-out puppets. Visually, I liked the two thug puppets best, but was surprised to read, on your youtube page, that they were from templates available on the net. The old lady puppets were effective, stylistically, in a primitive way. Seems like you may have run out of creative steam by the time you constructed the backgrounds, IMHO, of course.

Are your plans to actually animate this project frame by frame and/or are you lip syncing any dialogue?

Thank you for the welcome.

The templates from the web were just the shape. Sort of like a paper net that told me where to fold the paper. I made these first just to use as an example. For an actual project I would design them from scratch myself as I did with the old ladies (my personal favourite part).