• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

condenser mic?

Hi filmmakers,

Just wondering, is the NTG-2 RODE series mic considered a condenser mic? Sorry to be asking this, its just that I get things confused regarding mics as I am fairly new to the audio world and I am aware that sound 50% the experience :)
You see, I want to get crystal-clear sound on every project I make, thats why I hear condernser mics are the proper tools for this. Well, for that reason, I wont be shooting my audio outside, I always want to do it inside cause of clarity. I hear shooting with mics outside loses a little quality.

1.) what is a good condenser mic (at a price range of 250 - 300 $)
2.) how do I record sound so that it matches when a person is talking? (synching I believe right?) Is it hard to match it? Is it good if I record audio FIRST, and then I record the footage? (with audio in the background)?

Such a noob I am :D

Last edited:
I'm no sound guy but, yes, the Rode NTG-2 is a condenser mic.

But condenser is the microphone type so whilst that is what you want, it's not what you should be worrying about. What you are interested/need to make a decision about is the polar pattern. The NTG-2 is a shotgun mic which means it is highly directional. I know that sound experts on this forum would prefer to use a hypercardioid mic for indoor shooting, but personally I would say if you are only going to get one mic, get a shotgun.

1.) The Rode NTG-2 will serve you fine.

2.) Depends. If you are recording straight into the camera then there's no problem. If you are recording externally then you'll need to sync. You can do this automatically by purchasing a program called PluralEyes or you can do it manually using a clapper bored of some variety. So long as you have decent enough editing software syncing is easy but extraordinarily tedious.

A quick primer...