Computer possibly slowing down post-production?

Hellooo,

I've decided to do a short film over the summertime (probably around 3-5 minutes long), but I'm concerned there might be a technical hitch. Basically, I do all my post production on a MacBook Pro 13", dual core i5 with 2.4 Ghz., with 450 GB of space, and edit with Final Cut Pro X, After Effects, and Motion 5. Because I don't own an external drive (yet), I'll be storing all the footage on the hard drive so I'm a bit worried that I could potentially run out of space on my computer, since I'll be shooting full HD and possibly exporting at Pro Res 4.2.2.

Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks! :)

Depends on how much footage you shoot. If you use every second of footage, 3-5 minutes isn't too much.

If you do 12 takes for each scene.. well then yes you will run out of space.

Thanks, that's good to hear. It's just that I've never done a film over 3 minutes before, so this is my first time trying something "bigger" lol.

Thanks, that's good to hear. It's just that I've never done a film over 3 minutes before, so this is my first time trying something "bigger" lol.

If you only import some of the files at once, and then delete the takes you don't like you can probably make this work. Although technically that will slow down your post production

I would strongly advise you buy an external hard drive - USB3 or Thunderbolt 2.

Imagine having just to keep the takes you like then finding out later that you picked a poor take or need a cut from a scene you do not have... Or your laptop simply dies on you, or grinds to a halt.

This thread has advice along the lines of the question you posted.

http://www.indietalk.com/showthread.php?t=54009

I would strongly advise you buy an external hard drive - USB3 or Thunderbolt 2.