Camera opinions

Got a question.

I only have money to film stuff with consumer-type camcorders, so that's pretty much what I'll be working with. (Unless I ultimately decide to rent a better DV camera from somebody -- depends on cost)

So, with that said, this is what I'm going to try to accomplish:

This is all amateur mind you... Will be filming with cheap equipment, but trying to obtain solid imagery with whatever I got to use. Though I'm using consumer camcorders, I will attempt to avoid the home-video feel by always having the camera "move" in my shots with subtle movements w/ makeshift dolly, lots of close-up shots (these cameras have better picture quality up close than farther away), and in editing I'll try faster, quicker cuts to avoid having the viewer notice the amateur video. I have no experience with lighting, but I'll be trying to use 3-pt lighting techniques with makeshift lighting equipment (clamp lights, etc.), so hopefully I might be able to improve picture quality.

Speaking of picture quality... this is where I need an opinion on camera choice.

What I already have is a JVC GR-DV500u Mini DV Camcorder. I haven't used it much, but it is several years old so picture quality then vs. now, I'm not sure.. I haven't bought a more recent camcorder. All I know it has a CCD sensor, albeit lowest-end, I'm sure.. but that's got to be better than say, a regular camcorder w/o a CCD.

I've been planning on rolling with it, but then I thought... picture quality...

Well what if I decided to go with one of those cheap consumer HD cameras? You know, one of those that goes up to 720p.

What do you guys think? Won't the "HD" look help to improve picture quality, in addition to whatever I can get out of my lighting attempts, shot choice, etc.?

Again, I'm thinking those HD camera moreso for just the picture quality vs. what I can get out of my old camcorder... all of which will be in addition to whatever techniques I employ.