Camera Help

I am very new to film making. I have no experience and no education on the subject. I am doing most of the work on my own and don't really have anybody to ask advice from. Anyways, I want to shoot my new film in 8mm at maybe 16 fps. This is just what i know from what i researched. I figured i could lower the FPS on the camera, shoot in black in white on digital(so editing will be alot easier) then transfer the final product to 8mm film then back to digital to give it that effect. I was looking at different camera's and the ones i see reccomended the most are 1080i with 24 fps. Most of these cost 3 to 5 thousand dollars. And i'm not sure on how this works but it seems like its overkill for the look im going for. And its way out of my budget. But i also want to premiere the movie on a movie screen so i don't want the quality of camera to be so poor as to not allow me to do that or make an extremley blurry picture. Anyways any reccomendations for a video camera for this project thats under $2,000?

I'm not quite clear on the look you're going for. Could you expand on that?

Also, welcome to the forum!

I spent a month in Chula Vista. Often, I wish I was still there. Sweet place to live.