directing Business/Marketing vs Emotion/Art

I'm not good with self publication, or making my opinions seem important. For years, I've tried in vain to become someone worthy of listening to. To become a role-model. To become a guru.

I don't know if this was because I wanted fame, or more because (at least I think) to be appreciated for my abilities. My entire life I've been trying to gain appreciation, acceptance, praise. Could be vanity. Probably is. Now I can't help but feeling this has been holding me back for a long time.

Yesterday, I attended my own Q&A event highlighting me as a filmmaker while screening one of my favorite films "Dances with Wolves". Needless to say, no one showed. At first, I was relieved. I had built this event up for months, making myself more nervous as it got closer. Wondering what I would say, what people would think of me, the standard anxiety inducing thoughts.

When no one showed, I felt a wave of brief relief! I didn't have to worry what people would think, or how I would look anymore. I think the people who marked the venue felt a little sorry for me. But I told them not to worry about it. I'm not at that level anyway. I had no business being in that setting.

This got me really thinking on the drive back home... I've been focused on the thing everyone else wants, and not what I want.

I've never cared about fame/fortune/Hollywood stardom. I've only ever wanted to be appreciated for my dreams. This is why I will never find success. I don't want it bad enough. Putting myself into Q&A's, public speaking, meetings, marketing sessions, in the public eye won't work because I don't want anything more than to hear "good work!".

So, I guess I need to really shift my thinking. I want to make things worthy of the silver screen. I want to make things that bring tears to my eyes. The swell of music, imagery, acting combine to create that feeling I'm looking for.