Beginner, but desire to go far...How?

Hello everyone,

I am a high school grad right now and I am 100% set on going into filmmaking. I have loads of questions though. Right now money isnt a problem for me going to school and to get the necessary equipment, actors etc needed to get things going. I know to go far doing movies it will take years but what is the broad outlook I need to expect? How much schooling will I need to take? How is it done if I want to get a movie published after we finish? What kind of schooling and where to learn how to direct/write stories? I am thinking of living in California near San Fransico. Any good suggestions for schools around there would be good. Basically I was hoping if any of you can give me step 1 through the end to make these plans happen.

Thanks ahead of time,

Steve

Welcome. There are tons of threads on indietalk that talk about these issues and many more. Feel free to browse the forums, or use the search feature at the top of the screen.

"Basically I was hoping if any of you can give me step 1 through the end to make these plans happen."

Well, its not close to that simple. You need to read forums, read books, make shorts, make connections, learn the craft, develop your technique, etc. There is no step1-step10. Even though people become full time industry workers everyday, their paths to become it are varied.

One thing for sure is, going to any film school is no guarantee you will even land a single job anywhere, but it will teach you a lot and you will have access to good people and resources.

well if you want to join any film school then joing NYFA.i have heard alot about it....other option can be take literature in your majors to get some know how of stories.....

i started reading stories and novels at the age of 8 so i dont need to know how to write stories but many people might need some guidense.other thing is that you even might have no ability to think a story...all filmmakers are not scriptwriters.......