Animation: where to start

Hey, everybody!

I have a young friend who will be graduating in about a year. She is trying to figure out what to do with a degree in Communications and Cinematic Study in Detroit.

We all know everyone loves p.a.'s and interns, so I suggested doing that to get a foot in the door. However, she talked to me a little about being interested in animation. Not my area at all.

Does anyone have any info I could pass along? Where to look, what kind of software should she consider learning (or buying considering she could get student discounts) Any informative books. Any avenues in through the back door (meaning if you can't go to film school, start in public access t.v.-- that's what I did.)

She's very early 20's (oh, to be twenty and just starting out) Any advice for a bright and shiny graduate? I figure, let everything be 'glittery' while it can, she'll learn the work part soon enough.

-- spinner :cool:

Just want to preface this by saying that I am no expert.

It would depend on what type of animation she wants to do. If she wants to do quick animations for commercials, then she could buy Adobe After Effects and Maxon Cinema 4D (Killer student price for Cinema 4D). To see the kind of stuff you can do with it, go to:

http://greyscalegorilla.com/blog/

The dude teaches you how to use Cinema 4D and After Effects to make nice logos and text animations, the kind of stuff you routinely see in many commercials and intros.

If she is not into 3D, then she can do just as well with only After Effects, and then you want to check out Andrew Kramer's website:

http://www.videocopilot.net/
Lots and lots of tutorials. The guy is a master teacher. And he is funny. So learning with him is enjoyable.

If she wants to do more serious 3D / CG animations, like the kind you see in movies, then I'm not equipped to dispense advice. She should probably look at buying Maya or Houdini
Maya: http://usa.autodesk.com/maya/
Houdini: http://www.sidefx.com/