ANAMORPHIC VS 35MM ADAPTER (TO GET NARROW DOF)

Hi guys, I'm quite new to this things and right now I was looking for a way to get a narrower DOF from my 2/3" camera (JVC gy-HD110u).

I know both things don't really do the same thing nor are used for the same purpose, ok. But as I am trying to get a little bit of a cinema look and reduce the DOF of the camera, maybe each one could manage that in its way, the 35mm adapter by getting the 35mm DOF and the anamorphic because of its shallow DOF.

So if anyone could help me understand how I can solve this problem and the pros and cons of each methode, I would be very thankful! :)

Depth of field is a function of aperture to distance from object versus shutter speed. There any number of good DoF calculators available online (and posted on this forum). The simple answer is that, in order to get shallower DoF, you need faster glass (wider/lower numerically aperture) and a fast shutter speed. You didn't say what lens you have on your GY-HD110u. If it's the one that is installed from the factory, it has an f1.6 maximum aperture which is plenty. You also have a maximum shutter speed of 1/10,000. You will need to take advantage of the manual controls that camera offers. You should have a third party user's guide for that camera like one of the lightbooks. Try this, set up a shot in bright day light (not noon) and set your aperture at f1.6 and your shutter to 1/10,000. Start with the iso at 160 and adjust up or down to get the shot exposed properly. Now see how much DoF you have. Change the settings and start over. Repeat as needed. And remember, have fun!

The thing that's killing you on that camera is your sensor size.

Maybe look into some digi primes - they'll be cropped in somewhat as they're designed for 2/3" cameras and yours is a 1/3", but they may help with that 35mm look.

To help maximise your DOF, zoom in and open up your aperture and you'll start to get closer to what you want.