An odd question

Hey all,

I've recently joined, but I've lurked for quite some time and I've noticed something interesting. I'm a professional magician, by trade, so I frequent the magic forums a lot. Everyone here acts very strange in comparison.

For instance, someone on this forum asks a question and everyone immediately jumps in and actually answers the question with real, helpful, sincere advice. This would never happen on the magic forums. A sincere answer might accidentally crop in here and there, but for the most part questions are answered with snarky and sarcastic quips. Beginners stupid enough to ask for help are quickly dispatched by those who know good and well that all questions, (novice to advanced) shouldn't be asked in the first place and forums are just places to throw ones own weight around.

What's with you guys? I'm genuinely curious. Do magicians just have a natural tendency towards being bitter and cynical? Are filmakers more laid back and easy going?

Both magicians and filmakers are very similar in many ways. We are both in the business of storytelling using various means of deception, misdirection, special effects, lighting etc., but for some reason the attitudes differ considerably. Perhaps filmakers are simply more appreciated by the general public and therefore remain more optimistic about their craft. I don't know, but I'd love to get everyone's thoughts on the matter.

Semianimus

i would think, magicians are in the trade because of secrets.. they don't reveal them... they want you to find it on your own... magic is most often a singular experience...

whereas movies, are enjoyed by more.. the more who makes movies, the more we get to see... and you need more people to know the stuff...

Hey all,

I've recently joined, but I've lurked for quite some time and I've noticed something interesting. I'm a professional magician, by trade, so I frequent the magic forums a lot. Everyone here acts very strange in comparison.